Bob Boilen http://knba.org en The Raveonettes, 'Killer In The Streets' http://knba.org/post/raveonettes-killer-streets <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IOWjLfyRoQY</p> Wed, 23 Jul 2014 12:03:00 +0000 Bob Boilen 13791 at http://knba.org The Raveonettes, 'Killer In The Streets' Hamilton Leithauser: Tiny Desk Concert http://knba.org/post/hamilton-leithauser-tiny-desk-concert This is the second time <a href="http://www.npr.org/event/music/312175306/hamilton-leithauser-live-in-concert">Hamilton Leithauser</a> has graced the Tiny Desk. Two summers ago, he and his band <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/15291595/the-walkmen">The Walkmen</a> played <a href="http://www.npr.org/event/music/157190242/the-walkmen-tiny-desk-concert">a powerful set of songs</a> from their final album for now, <em>Heaven. Mon, 21 Jul 2014 18:39:00 +0000 Bob Boilen 13701 at http://knba.org Hamilton Leithauser: Tiny Desk Concert John Grant: Tiny Desk Concert http://knba.org/post/john-grant-tiny-desk-concert John Grant's songs don't mess around: The music isn't complicated, while the lyrics function as darts of retort and thought. His album <em>Pale Green Ghosts</em> is decorated with synthesizers, his voice often drenched in reverb; those tools and textures help make the record strong and everlasting.<p>So when Grant came to the Tiny Desk with just an acoustic guitarist — and wanted to play piano himself — I feared that the power of the songs I'd come to love wouldn't translate amid such bare sounds. I was wrong, and his music was just right. The lyrics rush forward and hit hard. Sun, 13 Jul 2014 12:03:00 +0000 Bob Boilen 13416 at http://knba.org John Grant: Tiny Desk Concert Kim Deal & Morgan Nagler, 'Range On Castle' http://knba.org/post/kim-deal-morgan-nagler-range-castle <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NF0DkVkWEH0</p> Thu, 10 Jul 2014 12:03:00 +0000 Bob Boilen 13308 at http://knba.org Kim Deal & Morgan Nagler, 'Range On Castle' Ásgeir, 'King And Cross' http://knba.org/post/sgeir-king-and-cross Since winning the Icelandic Music Award for best album of the year in his home country a few years ago, Ásgeir Trausti — best known simply as Ásgeir — has begun to win over larger parts of the world, including the U.S. He has a calm upper range voice, a voice not unlike Justin Vernon of <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/18073513/bon-iver" target="_blank">Bon Iver</a>. Later, he released <em>In The Silence, </em>a version of that award-winning album with the lyrics translated into the English. Tue, 08 Jul 2014 15:27:00 +0000 Bob Boilen 13224 at http://knba.org Ásgeir, 'King And Cross'