This Week on Earthsongs: Twin Flames

Oct 23, 2017

Jaaii and Chelsey June

  Twin Flames returns to Earthsongs with their new album Signal Fire. Husband and wife Chelsey June (Métis from Ottawa) and Jaaji (Inuk/Mohawk from Nunavik) pay tribute to each other and their Indigenous roots, taking their folk sound into more contemporary territory. Co-producing this album and incorporating throat singing and instruments from all over the world, like the didjeridoo and the bodhrán, Twin Flames achieve depth in both soundscape and content. Tracks like “She Remembers” explores the trauma experienced by Indigenous women and looks back to a time before such suffering was inflicted on native peoples. Twin Flames is nominated for three 2017 Canadian Folk Music awards.

Signal Fire (2017)
Jaaji and Chelsey June (2015)
Nunaga (2015)
Finding Me (2014)
Seize The Day (2013)


Artist (Song) Album

  1. Frank Waln (TreatiesThe Bridge
  2. Artson feat. Quese Imc & Supaman (Never Give UpE.A.R.T.H. – EP
  3. T-Rhyme (Golden feat. Sierra JamersonDiary of a Mad Red Woman
  4. Jeremy Dutcher (Honor Song)
  5. Twin Flames (So Qaigit – Come With MeSignal Fire
  6. Twin Flames (Hold MeSignal Fire
  7. Twin Flames (She RemembersSignal Fire
  8. Josh Halverson (Thunderbird SkyYear of the Thunderbird
  9. Danielle Egnew (You’ve Got to Go Back the Way That You Came) You’ve Got to Go Back the Way That You Came
  10. Kelly Derrickson (I Am – MotherNature) I Am