Mark Memmott http://knba.org en Before This Blogger Moves On, He Wants To Say Thanks http://knba.org/post/blogger-moves-he-wants-say-thanks The Two-Way is just shy of its fifth anniversary, on May 13.<p>This blogger has written just over 9,700 posts for NPR — almost 9,500 of them for The Two-Way.<p>It seems like a good time to move on.<p>Next week, I'll be on vacation. Fri, 25 Apr 2014 18:17:00 +0000 Mark Memmott 10516 at http://knba.org Before This Blogger Moves On, He Wants To Say Thanks New Manchester United Skipper Vows To Make Fans Smile Again http://knba.org/post/new-manchester-united-skipper-vows-make-fans-smile-again The biggest sports story of the week for millions of football (soccer) fans around the world was the sacking of David Moyes as manager of England's Manchester United, one of the <a href="http://www.forbes.com/sites/jasonbelzer/2014/04/10/manchester-united-vs-real-madrid-tilt-at-university-of-michigan-stadium-sells-out-in-24-hours/" target="_blank">two most valuable sports franchises</a> on the planet.<p>Moyes lasted less than a season as <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/thetwo-way/2013/05/09/182579340/evertons-moyes-to-replace-ferguson-at-man-united" target="_blank">successor to the legendary Fri, 25 Apr 2014 16:43:00 +0000 Mark Memmott 10512 at http://knba.org New Manchester United Skipper Vows To Make Fans Smile Again Recovery Of Bodies From Sunken Ferry Growing More Difficult http://knba.org/post/recovery-bodies-sunken-ferry-growing-more-difficult The news Friday from the site of South Korea's ferry disaster includes word that:<p>-- "At least 185 passengers had been confirmed dead, with 117 others still missing." (<a href="http://english.yonhapnews.co.kr/national/2014/04/25/34/0302000000AEN20140425001852315F.html" target="_blank">Yonhap News</a>)<p>-- Prosecutors have "officially attributed the sinking ... Fri, 25 Apr 2014 15:44:00 +0000 Mark Memmott 10511 at http://knba.org Recovery Of Bodies From Sunken Ferry Growing More Difficult Russia's Credit Rating Cut To Just Above 'Junk' http://knba.org/post/russias-credit-rating-cut-just-above-junk Saying that "the <a href="http://www.npr.org/tags/126978660/ukraine" target="_blank">tense geopolitical situation between Russia and Ukraine</a>" could accelerate the already heavy flow of money coming out of Russia, <a href="http://www.standardandpoors.com/en_US/web/guest/home" target="_blank">Standard & Poor's</a> on Friday cut that nation's credit rating to just above "junk" level.<p>What's more, S&P says it doesn't expect things to improve anytime soon:<p><blockquote><p>"In our view, Russia's political institutions remain comparatively weak and political power is highly centralized. Fri, 25 Apr 2014 14:22:00 +0000 Mark Memmott 10507 at http://knba.org VIDEO: At White House, Girl Hands Father's Resume To First Lady http://knba.org/post/video-white-house-girl-hands-fathers-resume-first-lady <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2nXDPxrt3v4</p> Fri, 25 Apr 2014 13:14:00 +0000 Mark Memmott 10506 at http://knba.org VIDEO: At White House, Girl Hands Father's Resume To First Lady